Our day at the zoo

By Courtney

Our day at the zoo was the best day so far this year and it was really enjoyable to spend time with my family. As my brother came home from university with his girlfriend, she wanted a little look around Pembrokeshire and to see what it is like so we thought to go to Folly Farm. What a day of adventure and seeing the new lions and the new rhinos, or shall I say rhino, there was meant to be two but we only saw the one sadly, the other one was in another cage but we couldn’t see him/her, I do not know if it was a girl or a boy but, it did look bored out of its mind, but it was lovely to see it. It looked so strong and powerful, a very big animal, but boy did it look very bored standing there not moving staring into nothing.

Next, we say the new lions, WOW! I cannot believe they had lions and there were loads of them, only one male though. The great part was when the zoo keepers fed the lions and they came so close!!! But when the zoo keepers left, the lions where they were so we could see them close up. One even roared at a lady taking a picture – it did not like that, everyone jumped back, which made one of the other lions growl. I thought that was the best part!!!!!

After that, we all went into the fun fair, sounds fun doesn’t it? Firstly, we sat down by the, ultimate play area. The tallest old mighty play area with loads of slides, ladders and different layers, one gigantic funky slide (the biggest one there) a slide that is quite dark but you do get an electric shock, sometimes you can see the spark, you also go around and around and then you’re out!

There is another slide by the two ways in, one way in is to climb, the other is to walk a couple of steps. Up the steps, then you can go upwards three ways one way is to go up the steps and down a slide and another way is up the stairs into the slide or in a whole up to the top, oh, look at me talking about my fun time in the fun play area, but while I was playing we had lunch but then my brother and his girlfriend went off and went on fair rides inside.

After I had eaten my lunch I had a little sit down with a drink and then we all went on the fair rides together, I went on the two rides with my brother and one ride with his girlfriend.  I really enjoyed it but then it was time to go home.

When we got home my brother’s girlfriend painted my nails with nail varnish, she is very good at it.

I cannot wait to go back to Folly Farm, my mother has promised that we would have one more trip there before we move up to Bristol. Plus I get to cross off hearing a lion roar!

Leave a Reply

